California has two major drink-driving laws that make it a felony to drive under the influence of alcohol. California Vehicle Code 23152(a) criminalizes driving under the influence of alcohol. California Vehicle Code 23152(b) makes it a crime to drive a motor vehicle when the blood alcohol level exceeds 0.08%. After being arrested for drunk driving, you will most likely face charges under the two statutes.
The consequences of a DUI conviction will vary based on two main factors:
- Whether you have prior DUI convictions?
- Whether someone suffers injuries because of your driving under the influence?
First Time DUI Offense – Consequences
In California, the potential consequences for the first time DUI offense are:
- Informal probation – from three to five years
- Six months in a county jail
- Fines from $390 – $1,000
- Judge order to attend a drug or alcohol education program – three to nine months.
- The judge may also order to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in vehicle – six months.